This is a time of considerable change in education. From September 2014  a  New National Curriculum is in place. At Rackheath we want to make our curriculum as exciting and as relevant as possible for our children. As a result of this each teacher ensures that the topics we cover are vibrant, rich in vocabulary and will stimulate a child’s thirst for knowledge.

The National Curriculum comprises 10 subjects plus R.E. Those in highlighted in red are core subjects:

  • Mathematics
  • English
  • Science
  • Religious Education
  • Computing
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Design and Technology
  • Languages

Here you can find links to our curriculum maps for each half term. On these maps you will be able to explore our diverse curriculum and see what you child will be learning throughout the year!

Curriculum 2018/2019

Autumn 1 2018-2019                                 Autumn 2 2018-2019

Spring 1 2018-2019                                    Spring 2 2018-2019

Summer 1 2018-2019                                Summer 2 2018-2019

Curriculum 2019/2020

For this academic year and beyond, as part of our on going goal to evaluate and improve the experiences that the children receive at Rackheath Primary School, we have decided to try a whole school topic based approach to our curriculum. For this, year groups will be working on a 2 year cycle of objectives (year A & year B) and will be paired up with another class. Objectives have then been redistributed according to which topic they suit.

Within these Curriculum Maps you will find the objectives that are being taught, along with some idea of how we will be teaching them.  


Class 1 & 2 Objectives and Content

Class 3 & 4 Objectives and Content

Class 5 & 6 Objectives and Content





At Rackheath your child will pass through 3 Key Stages and will take Standard Assessment Tests (SATs) in English and mathematics at the end of KS1 and KS2.

The Foundation Stage is assessed using the EYFS – Early Years Foundation Stage profile. Throughout Nursery and Reception, the class teachers gather a picture of each child through observations, photographs, work samples and discussions with parents to assess against 6 areas of learning. The ‘Profile Points’ in each area range from 1-9 with most children leaving Reception with 6 or more in each area.

The end of Year 1 phonics screening check was introduced in June 2012 to help identify children needing extra help to improve their reading skills.  It is a short assessment to confirm whether individual pupils have learnt phonic decoding to an appropriate standard.  The school follows the national guidelines for teaching phonics and the school policy for reading.At Rackheath your child will pass through 3 Key Stages and will take Standard Assessment Tests (SATs) in English and mathematics at the end of KS1 and KS2.

At the end of each Key Stage, children are assessed formally by Teacher Assessment. The results for each school are reported nationally.


Setting of pupils

At Rackheath children are not put into sets or streams.  Instead all children are taught together and then given differentiated work to do within groups.  Differentiated work gives children the appropriate level of challenge and support to help them learn at their own individual speed.  Children can easily move between groups depending on their progress and understanding.